Bitcoin Betting on Stanley Cup finals Ice Hockey

Stanley Cup finals 2019

Dates: June to June


The 2018–19 NHL season is the 102nd season of operation of the National Hockey League. 31 teams are competing in an 82-game regular season. The regular season began on October 3, 2018, and will end on April 6, 2019.

Best Websites for Bitcoin Betting on the Stanley Cup finals

Here are the best 3 bitcoin sportsbetting websites for you to place your bet:

sportsbet screenshotsportsbet logoPro´s:
- x3 Welcome Bonus
- Great Odds
- Established Sportsbook

- Website lags sometimes

Click here to visit

Nitrogen Sports:

nitrogen screnshotnitrogen logoPro´s:
- easy & user friedly
- US Friendly

- Unregulated

Click here to visit Nitrogensports

1xBit Casino

1xbit screenshot1xbit logoPro´s:
- Lots of Bonuses
- Live Streaming

- Pretty new site

Click here to visit 1xBit

Click here to compare more Sportsbooks which accept Bitcoin.


About the Stanley Cup finals

The Stanley Cup, first called the Dominion Hockey Challenge Cup, is an annual North American ice hockey trophy awarded by the National Hockey League to the winning team in the playoffs since 1927.

Offered by Frederick Stanley, the Stanley Cup was first awarded in 1893 by the Trustees, two men appointed by Stanley to manage conflicts and protect the best interests of the trophy. Between 1893 and 1914, the Cup can be won in two ways: either by winning a challenge against the defending champion team or by finishing at the top of the league in which that team plays.

In 1915, an agreement was reached between the leaders of the then leading North American leagues, the National Hockey Association (NHA) and the Pacific Coast Hockey Association (PCHA): the Stanley Cup was awarded to the winner of a final series between the best team in each league. Two years later, the ANH was replaced by the National Hockey League (NHL). The 1919 final was cancelled due to the flu outbreak and for the first time since 1893, the Stanley Cup was not rescheduled. In 1921, the Western Canada Hockey League (WCHL) was formed and was allowed to play against the best PCHA team to determine which team would meet with NHL officials. The PCHA did not survive this competition for long and ceased its activities in 1924. The WCHL suffered the same fate two years later, leaving the NHL alone to play for the Stanley Cup.

Between 1942 and 1967, only six teams played in the NHL and shared the Stanley Cup. During this 25-year period, the Montreal Canadiens won 10 titles, 5 of which were consecutive between 1956 and 1960; the Toronto Maple Leafs were just behind with 9 wins. In 1967, the NHL faced competition and doubled its number of teams. Gradually, the NHL increased its number of teams from 12 to 31. Since 1893, the Canadians have been the most successful team with 24 wins to their credit, Henri Richard being the player with the most cups, 11, while Scotty Bowman with 9 wins is the most rewarded coach. In 1965, the NHL established the Conn Smythe Trophy to reward the best player in the Stanley Cup series who is still a member of one of the two finalist teams.


On June 11, 1888, Frederick Stanley, Lord Stanley of Preston, was appointed Governor General of Canada by Queen Victoria. He is an athlete who loves hunting, racehorses and fishing. The Stanley family, who first attended a hockey game during the 1889 Montrea Winter Carnival, were conquered. Lord Stanley then had an ice rink built near his residence, Rideau Hall, in Ottawa. In 1892, the Governor’s sons managed to convince their father to buy a silver cup for 10 guineas for the best team in Canada. The team that wins the trophy cannot keep it and must put it back into play regularly. The cup was initially called the Dominion Hockey Challenge Cup and was later renamed the Stanley Cup.

Frederick Stanley decides that the cup goes to the best amateur team in Canada that has won a challenge game from another team. It sets up five first rules:

  • The winners must hand over the Cup in good condition at the request of the trustees, who should hand it over to another team deserving the trophy;
  • Each champion team must, at its own expense, engrave the name of the club and the year of victory on the Cup;
  • The Cup must remain a challenge trophy and cannot become the property of a team, even if the team wins it several times;
  • In the event of a dispute over the award of the Cup, the final decision rests with the trustees and will be absolute;
  • If one of the trustees resigns or can no longer carry out his duties, the remaining trustee must appoint a replacement.

Stanley appoints two trusted persons, trustees or administrators, for his Cup: Sheriff John Sweetland and Philip Dansken Ross. Sweetland and Ross first presented the trophy in 1893 to the Montreal Amateur Athletes Association (MAA) for their ice hockey section of the Amateur Hockey Association of Canada (AHAC). Stanley, anticipating the existence of other leagues, asked his trustees to provide additional rules to allow any Canadian team to have its chance.

The Cup goes to the winner of the AHAC season without a particular match being played; Challenges outside the AHAC can be thrown by any senior team that has won its championship, with challenges being played in order of the requests received; Once the trustees approve a challenge, the two teams must agree between themselves on the terms of the meetings (dates, ice rinks, selection of referees, financial distribution, etc.);

If the two teams cannot agree, the trustees follow the following principles:

  • The Cup is played over one match or two wins in three games. They may also decide to play two games and count the number of goals to determine the winner;
  • The matches take place in the defending champion city, on dates chosen by the trustees;
  • The proceeds from the sale of tickets are shared equally between the two teams;
  • If no referee is suitable for both clubs, the trustees appoint one of their choice and the related expenses are covered equally by both teams;
  • If the two teams do not agree on the other officials, the referee has full discretion to surround himself with people of his choice;
  • A league may not compete for the Cup twice in the same season.