Bitcoin Betting on IIHF World Championship Ice Hockey

IIHF World Championship 2019

Dates: 3-May-2019 to 19-May-2019


The Ice Hockey World Championships are an annual international men’s ice hockey tournament organized by the International Ice Hockey Federation. First officially held at the 1920 Summer Olympics, it is the sport’s highest profile annual international tournament.

Best Websites for Bitcoin Betting on the IIHF World Championship

Here are the best 3 bitcoin sportsbetting websites for you to place your bet:

sportsbet screenshotsportsbet logoPro´s:
- x3 Welcome Bonus
- Great Odds
- Established Sportsbook

- Website lags sometimes

Click here to visit

Nitrogen Sports:

nitrogen screnshotnitrogen logoPro´s:
- easy & user friedly
- US Friendly

- Unregulated

Click here to visit Nitrogensports

1xBit Casino

1xbit screenshot1xbit logoPro´s:
- Lots of Bonuses
- Live Streaming

- Pretty new site

Click here to visit 1xBit

Click here to compare more Sportsbooks which accept Bitcoin.


About the IIHF World Championship

Since 1920, the International Ice Hockey Federation (IIHF) has hosted the Ice Hockey World Championships. Until 1928 only the tournaments in the context of the Olympic Games (1920 Summer Olympics, 1924 and 28 Winter Olympics) were considered World Championships. Since 1930 they have been held separately every year (exceptions: an interruption from 1940 to 1946 due to the Second World War and in 1980, 1984 and 1988 due to the Olympic Winter Games). With regard to the Olympic years, this was decided by the International Federation on 9 July 1978, but there was to be an exception for Groups B and C (there was no Group D yet) and a competition was to be announced; at this meeting, a reduction of the duration of the World Championships to two weeks was also fixed. Until 1968, the Olympic Ice Hockey Tournament continued to be regarded as a World Championship tournament during the Olympic years.

In 1977, the first Junior World Championships were held for players under 20 years of age (U 20); they have been held annually ever since. Since 1999, juniors under the age of 18 (U18) have also been staging an annual World Cup; it has developed from the previous annual European Junior Championships, which were held every year, by involving North American and Far Eastern teams.

The women held their first World Championship in 1990. The tournaments then took place every two years, and since 1999 the one-year rhythm has also applied here. Exceptions are the Winter Olympics years (2002, 2006, etc.), in which no World Championships are held, and the year 2003, when a SARS epidemic prevented the A World Championships from being held in the host country China. Since 2008, World Junior Championships for under-18s (U18) have also been held.

Participants in the World Championships

With the increasing number of ice hockey nations, it was no longer possible for the men to have all the nations registered for the tournament play in a world championship tournament from the end of the 1950s onwards. Since an extensive qualifying round did not seem possible due to the annual mode of play, the International Ice Hockey Federation decided in 1959 to introduce different championship classes (A, B, C World Championships, from 1987 also D World Championships) with promotion and relegation from 1961.

Before the year 2001 this mode was slightly changed and the names adapted: The World Champion is now played in the World Championship (Top Division). The men’s tournament takes place with 16 teams, whereby the preliminary round has been played in two groups with eight teams each since 2012. Among them, Division I (until 2001 B-WM) and Division II (until 2001 C-WM) each play in two teams of six teams. Division III (until 2001 D-WM) plays in only one season with six teams. Newly entering or re-entering national teams start with the men since 2018 in the qualification for Division III. In 2013 the participation requirements for World Championships were tightened, so for example the existence of an ice rink in Olympic size is a prerequisite for participation (Greece and Ireland can therefore no longer participate). In 2013, they will no longer be able to participate, as all the artificial ice surfaces available there are smaller. Despite this, the number of participating nations rose to 52 (2019), mainly due to Asian countries.

The classification of participants in the Women’s and Junior World Championships and the IIHF Inline Hockey World Championships is similar. The division is similar to that of the men. Since 2019, the World Championship has taken place with ten teams, with the preliminary round being held in two groups of five teams each. In the two junior competitions, the top divisions play with ten teams, the juniors with eight.