Bitcoin Betting on British Open Golf

British Open 2019

Dates: 14-Jul-2019 to 21-Jul-2019


The Open Championship, often referred to as The Open or the British Open, is an annual golf tournament conducted by The R&A. It is one of the four major championships in professional golf, and is the oldest of the four.

Best Websites for Bitcoin Betting on the British Open

Here are the best 3 bitcoin sportsbetting websites for you to place your bet:

sportsbet screenshotsportsbet logoPro´s:
- x3 Welcome Bonus
- Great Odds
- Established Sportsbook

- Website lags sometimes

Click here to visit

Nitrogen Sports:

nitrogen screnshotnitrogen logoPro´s:
- easy & user friedly
- US Friendly

- Unregulated

Click here to visit Nitrogensports

1xBit Casino

1xbit screenshot1xbit logoPro´s:
- Lots of Bonuses
- Live Streaming

- Pretty new site

Click here to visit 1xBit

Click here to compare more Sportsbooks which accept Bitcoin.


About the British Open

The Open Championship, sometimes called the British Open outside Great Britain, is the oldest golf tournament in the world. It is the only of the four major championship tournaments that is not played in the United States. The tournament is played regularly on nine different links courses in Scotland, England and Northern Ireland, which are among the best and most famous golf courses in Britain.

History and Significance

The idea of an open championship, which is played out annually on alternating courses, first emerged in 1856. Due to a lack of support from other clubs, the Prestwick Golf Club dared to start alone. On October 17, 1860, Prestwick hosted the first title fights initiated by the Earl of Eglinton and Colonel James Fairlie. The eight leading players of the time played three rounds of the 12-hole course at Prestwick in one day. Willie Park Sr. won the first title with 174 strokes. 1863 prize money was awarded for the first time to the placed participants and a prize money pool of £10 was set for them (the winner received only the championship belt for one year until then). It was not until 1864 that the winner also received additional prize money of £6 and the total prize money was increased to £15. After Young Tom Morris won the tournament for the third time in a row in 1870, there was disagreement in the organising committee about how to proceed. The disagreement was so great that no tournament was held in 1871. From the following year, Prestwick, Musselburgh, and St. Andrews changed the venue.

Until 1894 this tournament was played exclusively in Scotland. Royal St George’s was the first venue in England.

The Open Championship is one of the four most important golf tournaments, the so-called Majors, and is the only one of its kind in Europe.

The name “Open” refers to the fact that both amateurs and professionals can compete in this tournament. In theory, participation is open to anyone who qualifies or is automatically eligible due to past achievements.

The Venues

The tournament is held annually in July by the Royal and Ancient Golf Club of St Andrews (R&A). The tournament is scheduled so that the final day is the third Sunday in July. The venue currently alternates between 9 courses, with the tradition that these are links courses typical of golf in the UK. The list of host courses is called “Rota” and consists of:

Current courses


  • St Andrews Old Course (most frequent venue, since it has been played every 5 years since 1990)
  • carnoustie
  • Muirfield
  • gymnast
  • Royal Troon Golf Club


  • Royal St George’s
  • Royal Birkdale
  • Royal Lytham & St.Annes
  • Royal Liverpool (Hoylake)

Former Places

  • Prestwick Golf Club (First venue 1860-1872)
  • Musselburgh Links
  • Royal Cinque Ports Golf Club
  • Prince’s Golf Club (Sandwich, Kent)
  • Royal Portrush Golf Club (The only course not located on the British main island, but in Northern Ireland)

Claret Jug

The famous trophy for the winner of the Open – the Champion Golfer of the Year – has been in existence since 1872, after the Championship Belt, previously presented to the winner, became the property of Young Tom Morris after three consecutive wins. This original trophy has been displayed since 1928 in the clubhouse of the Royal and Ancient Golf Club of St Andrews along with the Championship Belt (donated by the Morris family in 1908).

The current Claret Jug was first presented to the winner, Walter Hagen, in 1928. Each winner may keep the original trophy until the next Open Championship and will then receive a replica of the trophy.

Silver Medal

The best amateur at the Open Championship receives the Silver Medal, provided he has made the cut and finished the tournament over the full distance. The award traditionally takes place immediately before the Claret Jug is handed over.